UI UX Case Study: Re-Design My Ads Features at OLX Autos Mobile App

Kresnaufal S.
6 min readSep 15, 2022

--

πŸ“£ Disclaimer

This project is part of my portfolio improvement in creating UI UX Case Study. I do not work for or professionally contract with OLX Autos.

πŸ‘€ Background

OLX Autos is the smart way to sell your car. They offer one-stop solutions that are safe, convenient, and offer guaranteed peace of mind for both buyer and seller. Simply get a free evaluation online, then drive to one of our many inspection centers. In Indonesia, OLX Autos is an instant car sales service with 2,000+ partners with 100+ inspection locations in 7 major cities in Indonesia (Jabodetabek, Bandung, Semarang, Yogyakarta, Surabaya, Bali and Medan).

OLX Autos Showroom

My Ads Section

In the current application, OLX Autos already provides several Ads packages including;

1. Post more Ads & Auto Boost

  • valid for 30 days
  • ad boost per 5 days ( there is a choice, 3 ads / 1 ad)

2. Post More Ads 1

  • valid for 90 days
  • 60 ads available

3. Post More Ads 2

  • valid for 30 days
  • available 10 ads, 5 ads, 3 ads and 1 ads

Not only that, OLX also adds several additional package options that users can purchase separately which include:

A. Featured Ad

1. Featured Ads FOR 30 DAYS

  • get 7x more potential buyers
  • available 10 ads, 5 ads and 1 ad

2. Featured Ad for 14 days

  • get 6x more potential buyers
  • available 10 ads, 5 ads and 1 ad

3. Featured Ad for 7 days

  • get 4x more potential buyers
  • available 10 ads, 5 ads and 1 ad

B. Boost to Top

1. Boost to top for 30 days

  • ads will go up again like new ads
  • get 2x more potential buyers
  • available 10 ads, 5 ads and 1 ad
My Ads Features recently

πŸ” Objectives

1. Re-design an easy-to-understand My Ads section

2. Make it easier for users to find their ads need

3. Helping local workshops introduce their products and services.

Design Process

In this case, I use Design Thinking as a design process approach. This method is a method that is easy to understand and implement. These methods include;

Design Thinking Process

1- Empathize

At this stage I took data from several user reviews who have provided experience reviews of this application through the Playstore.

Here are some user reviews:

User Review

Research Objective

A. User Criteria

  1. Female
  2. Age 25–30 years
  3. Occupation β€” Entrepreneur
  4. Domicile β€” Indonesia
  5. Have the ability to speak Indonesian as a native language
  6. Have good articulation in communication

B. Question List

  1. Introduce yourself
  2. As long as you are selling used car, have you ever used a website/online application to market your product?
  3. In your opinion, how important is it today to market your product through social media?
  4. Have you ever online application/website to selling your used car?
  5. If yes, what application do you use?
  6. Which feature do you feel the most useful?
  7. Which feature do you feel the most pain?

2 β€” Define

Here are some pain points that I explore from some user reviews and the results of my own research for My Ads OLX Autos app.

Define Problem

Defining the Problem:

  1. The user sees that the My Ads page is too complicated
  2. The packages provided are too much explanation

After defining the problem I go through the next process from making User Persona and How Might Be.

User Persona

from that problem and user persona I make the How Might Be process,

  1. Give a short tour about the introduction of My Ads section such as the introduction of my ads, the user flow of the package features and the testimonials of the package users.
  2. Bundling the packages that are already available to be more compact and easy to understand

3 β€” Ideating

At this stage, I try to organize the pain points of this application into stages. The stages include Solution Idea, Affiniy Diagram, Prioritize Idea and finally Crazy 8.

  1. Solution Idea

At this stage, I took several solutions related to the application that I found after getting data form the Define (How Might Be) stage. Here is the solution idea I got.

Solution Idea 1
Solution Idea 2

2. Afinity Diagram/Cluster

At this stage, I created several categories of existing solutions so that the design team and I found the problem points of the application and the solutions. The solution that is made is the head of a large category that will be made later, namely providing slide pages related to the my ads section feature and then making it easier for users to find out which packages are available by providing a more compact package.

3. Prioritize Idea

At this stage I enter the result of the Affinity Diagram into several priority categories which are divided into Do it Now, Do Next, Later, and Do Last. This stage makes it easier for me and the design team to know which pain points to work on first/urgent. Here is the Prioritize Idea in my case

Prioritization Matrix

4. Crazy 8s

At this stage I create 8 forms of low visual ideas from the solutions that have been made. Here are 8 visuals ideas I came up with;

Crazy 8

4 β€” Prototyping

I start to develop the wireframe and user flow for each features that I want to implement. In this case I created the flow when the user follows and passes a brief guide about the My Ads feature and also give a short flow of the user when buying a package

User Flow

The next step is to create a wireframe, here are the wireframes

Wireframe 1
Wireframe 2
Wireframe 3

5 β€” Testing

At this stage I have not had time to do usability tests and interviews.

πŸ“„ Conclusion

My goal in this redesign is to give a better impression to loyal customers of the OLX Autos application. The increasing number of OLX Autos users pay special attention to being able to continue to maximize the features it offers, including the My Ads feature.

🎯 Recomendation

During the stage of solving the OLX Autos case, I did quite a good dive from several user reviews of the My Ads feature. But unfortunately I can not provide a more attractive visual design. However, through this case I have given a clear explanation of what concerns me and some users about the My Ads OLX Autos feature.

Thank you for reading my portfolio article. Any feedback or suggestions are very welcome:)

--

--