UI UX Case Study: Clarifying Information and Process for Starbucks Order Feature

Kresnaufal S.
5 min readAug 22, 2023

--

πŸ“£ Disclaimer

This project is a Design Challenge that I participated in in the Purwadhika Digital Technology School. I do not work in a professional contract with Starbucks Indonesia

πŸ‘€ Background

Starbucks Corporation is an American coffee company and chain founded in 1971. Under the leadership of Howard Schultz, it transformed into a global coffeehouse chain known for its premium coffee blends and inviting ambiance. With thousands of locations worldwide, Starbucks emphasizes ethical sourcing and social responsibility.

The Starbucks mobile app offers a convenient and enhanced customer experience. Users can order and customize beverages ahead, saving time with mobile ordering. The app facilitates seamless payments, tracks rewards, and provides personalized offers. Additionally, it offers a store locator, nutritional information, and in-app entertainment, promoting customer loyalty and engagement.

πŸ” Objectives

- Improvising the Order and Store location features.

- Making it easy for users to search, order and collect their coffee.

πŸ” The Process

In this stage I started by knowing the user’s needs in buying coffee online. I gathered 5 participants and then I conducted an interview. And here are the results of the affinity map of the 5 participant users that I interviewed.

Affinity Map
Affinity Map

Then to facilitate user needs, I created six Key Insights to make it easier for me to get only the important points.

Key Insight

From the six key insights that I got, I got How Might We. The following is How Might We that I made

HMW

Then from How Might We, I made several solutions features that I will apply in the design later, such as;

Feature Solution

From the formation of some of the conclusions that were obtained, I created a user persona that would make it easier for me to understand and make the right decisions in designing. The user persona also helps me build interactive interfaces.

User Persona 1
User Persona 2

From the following two user personas, I draw conclusions that I can apply in my improvised designs later such as;

  • Both users are aged 18–30 years and they like the minimalist design concept and the ease of interaction between features.
  • Both users are users who like coffee and make coffee a mandatory daily drink.
  • Both users complained about the performance of the application where there was no up to date and real time information from both available promo information and the status of online coffee orders.

From research and elaboration of existing user personas, I created an Information Architecture (IA) that will facilitate the basic process of optimizing content settings and navigation, resulting in user-friendly, intuitive and attractive applications. After the IA that was created I made User Flow. Where this stage will make it easier for me to create a clear and effective application flow for users to use the application. Here are the IA and User Flow that I made;

User Flow and Information Architecture

After creating a use flow, it became easier for me to do the next step, which is to make a wireframe. In making this wireframe, it will make it easier for me to get a clear application layout/structure. Wireframes can also be referred to as blueprints in design. Here is the Wireframe that was created:

Wireframe

And the next step is to make High Fidelity. This stage is the stage of finalizing the design with details that include the visual elements of color, typography and images. This stage is also the stage of visualizing complete user interaction based on aesthetic concepts and feature/design functionality. Here is the created Hi-Fi.

πŸ“ Testing

At this stage is the final stage, namely testing the design that I have made. I invite 5 Participants to complete 3 missions. The goal is to ensure that the user understands how to complete a feature in the application. The three missions are;

3 Task of Usability Testing

Conclusion

The purpose of this case study is to provide the best user experience in using the Starbucks Mobile App. Maximizing the presence of users and the nearest Starbucks Stores as well as the convenience of buying coffee only through the application.

Recommendations

The Starbucks Indonesia application is known as a money application that is not informative and functional because there are still many bugs and special treatment given to users of this application. My recommendation is to regularly improve the application and increase awareness and various other attractive offers that invite users to use this application.

--

--